Session 4 Production Project

SUMMARY

Role

Producer

Intention (SMART Goal)

By March 1, as the Producer, I will have evidence of creating a dynamic boss fight by following Mediums Boss Tutorial for Session 4.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Charlie Cleveland

He was the director for Subnautica. It was a very popular game with the fresh idea of making a survival game set underwater with a good touch of horror with how the the enemies can act.

Prototype: 3:04

Thrill of the Unknown: 20:03

Hunt for Red October: 28:08

Random Attributes: 46:56

James Cameron: 51:08

SpeedRuns: 54:23

How to Make Your Game Reach More People: 1:12:26

Prototyping (Again): 1:18:13

Crafting: 1:25:51

Intro of Subnautica: 1:35:59

Training Source(s)

Intro: 0:00

Overview: 1:48

Starting Scene: 3:56

Setting Up the Script: 5:07

Spawning Enemies in Random Areas: 7:40

Moving to the Next Stage: 11:52

Adding a Boss Shield: 15:19

Increasing Difficulties: 17:41

Health Pickups: 20:21

Outro: 25:18

Project Timeline

Add Boss Projectiles

Add Other Attacks

Add Smaller Enemies

Make a Better Respawn System

Fix Compression Issues

Add Borders Around the Arena

Evidence of Team Planning and Decisions

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

Game Link

Skills Commentary

Slideshow Link

During the session, I worked on making the boss shooting and the code for switching between things like the main menu and the win screen. I also bug-fixed a lot of minor things that came up and added the walls for the level.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

Due to us just padding our the game this session, I didn’t do anything really creative only bug fixing and dealing with issues when they came up. For instance, the bullets would spawn in but wouldn’t move and after looking I realized the force was not added so after some quick fixes I added it.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I communicated with Liam, Hunter, and Robert regularly to work on the game more efficiently. Since Hunter was the main level/ menu artist, I asked him to make sprites and artwork we needed when it came up.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I didn’t really use the tutorials I found at the start of the session like normal. The ai shooting one though I used a lot this session and I’m happy I did. If I am being honest I really didn’t use much info and media literacy in this session due to how it was structured for my team.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I was able to learn many different things to help with future projects like how to make enemies shoot at the players and learned from issues that my team ran into what makes good level design.

Reactions to the Final Version

“The boss and player projectiles were too small” – Neliy. Although I was not there, I heard our game was well received and the main issue came up with art which was not my role in this session. With the SUCCESS model, our game mainly hit categories for gameplay and not for the story since we didn’t have enough time to add a basic intro slide like in the last production session.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

This session allowed us to make a lot of progress with the game. I will say that there were issues with how the team chose what person would do what thing but I am happy with how far the game came from last school year. I do realize that I didn’t work enough as I would like but I’m happy

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Robert

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *